CE 394K.3 GIS in Water Resources

Fall Semester 2017

University of Texas at Austin

Instructors: David R. Maidment, David G. Tarboton

 

 

Course Syllabus: GISWRSyllabus2017.pdf

Course videos: https://mediasite.engr.utexas.edu/UTMediasite/Catalog/catalogs/fall-2017-gis-maidment

UT Virtual Desktop: AccessingVirtualDesktop.pdf

Installing ArcGIS Pro: ArcGISUser.pdf

Dr Tarboton Web Site: http://hydrology.usu.edu/dtarb/giswr/2017/

Term Paper Library: TermPaperLibrary.htm

 

Term Project Presentations: TermProject.htm

 

National Water Model: http://water.noaa.gov/map

 

Session 1: Thurs 31 Aug Introduction to GIS in Water Resources Lecture12017.pptx GISWRSynopsis1.pdf PresAtSOC.pptx NWSTDEM31August.pdf

 

Session 2: Tues 5 Sept Introduction to ArcGIS Lecture22017.pptx HarveyWeb.pptx

 

Session 3: Thurs 7 Sept Exercise 1: Introduction to ArcGIS Ex12007.pdf Ex1Data.zip

 

Session 4: Tues 12 Sept Data Sources for GIS in Water Resources DataSources2017.pptx SynopsisDataSources.pdf

 

Session 5: Thurs 14 Sept Map Projections MapProj.pptx Hmwk1.pdf

 

Session 6: Tues 19 Sept Exercise 2: Building a base map of the San Marcos basin Ex22017.pdf

 

Session 7: Thurs 21 Sept Spatial Analysis.pptx Slope.pdf SynopsisSpatialAnalysis.pdf

 

Session 8: Tues 26 Sept Exercise 3: Spatial Analysis Ex32017.pdf Ex3Data.zip

 

Session 9: Thurs 28 Sept Watershed and Stream Network Delineation DEMWatershedDelineation.pptx SynopsisDEMWatershedDelin.pdf

 

Session 10: Tues 3 Oct Extended terrain analysis ExtendedTerrainAnalysis.pptx

 

Session 11: Thurs 5 Oct Watershed and stream network delineation Ex42017.pdf

 

Session 12: Tues 10 Oct National Water Model NationalWaterModel.pptx

 

Session 13: Thurs 12 Oct Review for Midterm Exam Review2017.pdf MidtermReview2017.pptx

 

Midterm2012 Midterm2013 Midterm2014 Midterm2015 Midterm2016

 

Solution2012 Solution2013 Solution2014 Solution2015 Solution2016

 

Session 14: Tues 17 Oct Midterm Exam Midterm2017.pdf MidtermSoln2017.pdf

 

Session 15: Thurs 19 Oct GIS for Groundwater AHGroundwater17.pptx

 

Session 16: Tues 24 Oct HAND for flood inundation mapping HAND.pptx

 

Session 17: Thurs 26 Oct Height Above Nearest Drainage Inundation Analysis Ex5_2017.pdf Ex5 Data: Ex5.zip

 

Session 18: Tues 31 Oct TermPaperPresentations.pdf Demography.pptx LIDAR.pptx

 

Session 19: Thurs 2 Nov Python Programming for ArcGIS Programming.pptx MyWatershed.zip

 

Session 20: Tues 7 Nov Water Resources Analysis using WEAP WEAP.pptx

 

Session 21: Thurs 9 Nov Term Paper Presentations: Regional Analysis

 

Session 22: Tues 14 Nov Term Paper Presentations: International Water Resources

 

Session 23: Thurs 16 Nov Sharing water information Hydroshare.pptx