CE 374K HYDROLOGY

Spring 2000

SYLLABUS


UNIQUE NUMBER            13705

INSTRUCTOR:         David R. Maidment

                                    Office: ECJ 8.612

                                    Phone: Campus 471-4620, CRWR 471-0065

                                    E-mail: maidment@mail.utexas.edu

                                    Website: http://www.ce.utexas.edu/prof/maidment/ce374k/ce374k.htm

OFFICE HOURS    Tuesday and Thursday 2-4PM, ECJ 8.612 

LECTURES:              Tuesday and Thursday, 12:30-2PM, ECJ 7.208                     

OBJECTIVES:          This course is designed to present:

       The movement of water through the phases of the hydrologic cycle

       Modeling of hydrologic systems

       An introduction to hydrologic design 

PREREQUISITES:   CE 311S and CE 356 

COMPUTER:            Proficiency with computers and familiarity with a spreadsheet program like Excel is expected. There will be some computer assignments using HEC computer programs to be completed in the LRC. 

TEXT:                        The required text is “Applied Hydrology” by Chow, Maidment and Mays, McGraw-Hill, 1988.

                                    The supplemental text is “Handbook of Hydrology”, Ed. by Maidment, which is on reserve in the Engineering Library.

                                    Other materials (e.g., homework solutions) will be distributed or put on reserve in the Engineering Library. 

CLASS FORMAT:    Lectures supplemented with outside reading, homework, and exams. 

CLASS OUTLINE:   See attached. 

GRADING:                Quizzes, 2 @ 25%       = 50%

                                    Homework                  = 15%

                                    Class Participation      = 5%

                                    Final Exam                  = 30%

Any problems, personal or otherwise, affecting grades should be brought to the instructor's attention. 

HOMEWORK POLICY     Homework assignments are due in by 5PM on the day assigned. There is a box outside my door in ECJ 8.6 for turning in assignments after the class hour, if necessary. Homework must be done on clean paper, stapled in the top left corner, have your name in the top right corner, and your name, class and assignment number written on the outside when the homework is folded in half. 

EXAMINATIONS:    There will be two 75 minute inclass examinations and the final examination. Each examination will be closed book, although you will be allowed a 1-page review sheet, and will be given on the date and time indicated. Missed examinations may be made up only if the reason for missing was illness or some other emergency. Final Exam is scheduled to be given on Saturday May 13, 

7-10PM.

EVALUATION:        The University Measurement and Evaluation Center forms will be used during the last week of class to evaluate the course and the instructor. 

DISHONESTY:         University procedures will be followed in dealing with cases of suspected scholastic dishonesty.

ATTENDANCE:        Regular class attendance is expected in accordance with The University's General Information catalog and the College of Engineering policy (see the section on Attendance in the Undergraduate Catalog). 

IMPORTANT NOTE:          The University of Texas at Austin provides upon request appropriate academic adjustments for qualified students with disabilities. For more information, contact the Office of the Dean of Students at 471-6259, 471-4241 TDD or the College of Engineering Director of Students with Disabilities at 471-4321.


Important Dates

January 21 Friday. 

Last day of the official add/drop period; after this date, changes in registration require the approval of the chairman and usually the student's dean. (See General Information, chapter 4, for required approvals.)

Last day undergraduate students may register without the approval of the registrar.

Last day graduate students may register and pay fees without the approval of the graduate dean.

February 2 Wednesday. 

Twelfth class day. Last day an undergraduate student may add a course except for rare and extenuating circumstances.

Last day a graduate student may, with the required approvals, add a course.

Payment for added courses (add bill) due.

Last day to drop a course for a possible refund.

February 3 Thursday. 

Last day to apply for a graduate degree.

February 14 Monday. 

Last day an undergraduate may drop a course without a possible academic penalty. The instructor must assign a "Q" symbol or a grade of F.

March 13-18 Monday-Saturday. 

Spring break.

March 27 Monday. 

Last day an undergraduate student may, with the dean's approval, withdraw from the University or drop a course except for urgent and substantiated, nonacademic reasons.

Last day to change registration in a course to or from the pass/fail or credit/no credit basis.

Last day to apply for an undergraduate degree.

April 12-14 Wednesday-Friday, 17-21 Monday-Friday. 

Academic advising for continuing and readmitted students for the summer session and the fall semester.

April 14 Friday. 

Deadline for master's degree candidates to have all incompletes removed from their Programs of Work; grade change forms must be submitted by instructors to the Office of Graduate Studies by this date.

April 17-22 Monday-Saturday. 

Registration for the summer session for continuing and readmitted students.

April 24-May 6 Monday-Saturday.

Registration for the fall semester for continuing and readmitted students.

May 5 Friday.

Master's Report, Master's Thesis, and Doctoral Dissertation due.

Last day a graduate student may, with the approval of the instructor, the graduate adviser, and the graduate dean, drop a course. The instructor must assign a "Q" symbol or a grade of F.

May 8-9, 14 Monday-Tuesday, Sunday. No-class days.

May 10-13, Wednesday-Saturday, May 15-16 Monday-Tuesday. 

Spring semester final examinations except in the School of Law.


SCHEDULE


 

 

Date

Topic

Text 

Tues Jan 18

Introduction to surface water hydrology

Chap. 1

Thurs Jan 20

Continuity equation

2

Tues Jan 25

Momentum principle

2

Thurs Jan 27

Energy balance

2

Tues Feb 1

Atmospheric water

3

Thurs Feb 3

Precipitation

3

Tues Feb 8

Evaporation

3

Thurs Feb 10

Infiltration and soil water movement

4

Tues Feb 15

Green-Ampt infiltration equation

4

Thurs Feb 17

Review

 

Tues Feb 22

QUIZ

 

Thurs Feb 24

Runoff processes

5

Tues Feb 29

Runoff losses and velocity

5

Thurs Mar 2

Hydrologic measurement

6

Tues Mar 7

Unit hydrograph

7

Thurs Mar 9

Runoff hydrograph computation

7

Spring Break!

 

 

Tues Mar 21

Reservoir and river routing

8

Thurs Mar 23

St Venant Equations and Kinematic wave

9

Tues Mar 28

Solution of Kinematic wave

9

Thurs Mar 30

Dynamic wave, Hydrologic Statistics

11

Tues Apr 4

Introduction to HEC-HMS, Flood Frequency

12

Thurs Apr 6

Flood frequency analysis, Design levels

13

Tues Apr 11

Review

 

Thurs Apr 13

QUIZ

 

Tues Apr 18

Stream and Watershed Delineation from DEMs  (Dr Olivera)

Presentation1, Presentation2

Thurs Apr 20

Determining Hydrologic Parameters using GIS (Dr Olivera)

Presentation1, Presentation2

Tues Apr 25

Design storms

14

Thurs Apr 27

Are BMP’s Environmentally Friendly?

Presentation by Dr Roesner

Tues May 2

Hydrologic design for flood damage reduction

Floodmap Presentation

Thurs May 4

Course evaluation and review for the final exam

Beargrass Creek Case Study of flood damage assessment

Saturday May 13, 7-10PM

Final examination

 





Return to Course Home Page