CE 356 Elements of Hydraulic Engineering

Fall 2004

SYLLABUS 


 

 

UNIQUE NUMBERS: 14630, 14635, 14637, 14640

INSTRUCTOR: David R. Maidment

Office: ECJ 8.612

Phone: Campus 471-4620, CRWR 471-0065

E-mail: maidment@mail.utexas.edu

Web: http://www.ce.utexas.edu/prof/maidment/ce356Fall04/ce356.htm

OFFICE HOURS Tuesday and Thursday, 2-4PM, ECJ 8.612

LECTURES: Tuesday and Thursday 9:30-11AM, CPE 2. 210

LABORATORIES: All in B.111; 14630: Mon 11-1PM; 14635: Tues 12:30-2:30PM; 14637: Mon 5-7PM; 14640: Weds 5-7PM

There will be four laboratory experiments, each spread over a two-week period. The lab sections will be split into two subsections to do each experiment, with one subsection doing the experiment the first week, and the other subsection doing it the second week. The normal class time of 75 minutes is reduced to 60 minutes to allow for the extra time involved in attending the laboratory and preparing laboratory reports.

OBJECTIVES: This course is designed to present:

         Water flow through pipe and pumping systems

         Water flow through open channels and hydraulic structures

         A brief introduction to hydrology

PREREQUISITES: CE 319F

COMPUTER: Proficiency with computers and familiarity with a spreadsheet program like Excel is expected.

TEXT: The required text is “Fundamentals of Hydraulic Engineering Systems” by Hwang and Houghtalen, 3rd Ed., Prentice Hall, 1996.

Other materials (e.g., homework solutions) will be distributed or put on reserve in the Engineering Library.

CLASS FORMAT: Lectures supplemented with outside reading, homework, and exams.

CLASS OUTLINE: See attached.

GRADING: Quizzes, 2 @ 20% = 40%

Homework  = 15%

Laboratory = 15%

Final Exam = 30%

Any problems, personal or otherwise, affecting grades should be brought to the instructor's attention.

HOMEWORK POLICY: Homework assignments are due in by 5PM on the day assigned. There is a box outside my door in ECJ 8.6 for turning in assignments after the class hour, if necessary. Homework must be done on clean paper, stapled in the top left corner, have your name in the top right corner, and your name, class and assignment number written on the outside when the homework is folded in half.

EXAMINATIONS: There will be two 75 minute inclass examinations and the final examination. Each examination will be closed book, although you will be allowed a 1-page review sheet, and will be given on the date and time indicated. Missed examinations may be made up only if the reason for missing was illness or some other emergency. Final Exam is scheduled to be given on Saturday Dec 11, 2-5 PM.

EVALUATION: The University Measurement and Evaluation Center forms will be used during the last week of class to evaluate the course and the instructor.

DISHONESTY: University procedures will be followed in dealing with cases of suspected scholastic dishonesty.

ATTENDANCE: Regular class attendance is expected in accordance with The University's General Information catalog and the College of Engineering policy (see the section on Attendance in the Undergraduate Catalog).

IMPORTANT NOTE: The University of Texas at Austin provides upon request appropriate academic adjustments for qualified students with disabilities. For more information, contact the Office of the Dean of Students at 471-6259, 471-4241 TDD or the College of Engineering Director of Students with Disabilities at 471-4321.


SCHEDULE

 

Class Number

Date

Topic

Text 

Lab

1

Thurs Aug 26

Introduction to hydraulics and water

Chap. 1

 

2

Tues Aug 31

Pressure head and manometers

2

 

3

Thurs Sept 2

Pipe flow, friction losses

3

 

4

Tues Sept 7

Minor head losses

3

Intro

5

Thurs Sept 9

Statistical analysis of errors

 

Intro

6

Tues Sept 14

Pump power, velocity, head, flow

5

Pipe flow

7

Thurs Sept 16

Pump similarity, specific speed

5

Pipe flow

8

Tues Sept 21

Pump selection, cavitation

5

Pipe flow

9

Thurs Sept 23

NPSH, pumps in series and parallel

5

Pipe flow

10

Tues Sept 28

Pump systems, operating points

Pump and pipe spreadsheets

5

Pumps

11

Thurs Sept 30

Flow between reservoirs, parallel pipes

4

Pumps

12

Tues Oct 5

Pipe networks

4

Pumps

13

Thurs Oct 7

Pipe networks

4

Pumps

14

Tues Oct 12

Review

 

 

15

Thurs Oct 14

QUIZ

 

 

16

Tues Oct 19

Open channel flow

6

Hydr. Jump

17

Thurs Oct 21

Specific energy, critical depth

6

Hydr. Jump

18

Tues Oct 26

Hydraulic jump

6

Hydr. Jump

19

Thurs Oct 28

Gradually varied flow, homework

6

Hydr. Jump

20

Tues Nov 2

Standard step method

6

 Wier flow

21

Thurs Nov 4

Water surface profile using spreadsheets

6

 Wier flow

22

Tues Nov 9

Flow measurement in pipes

9.1-9.3

 Wier flow

23

Thurs Nov 11

Flow measurement with weirs

8.5, 9.4

 Wier flow

24

Tues Nov 16

Review

 

 

25

Thurs Nov 18

QUIZ

 

 

26

Tues Nov 23

Introduction to Hydrology

11

 

 

 

Thanksgiving!!

 

 

27

Tues Nov 30

Rational Method

11

 

28

Thurs Dec 2

Course evaluation and review for the final exam

 

 

 

Saturday, Dec 11, 2-5PM

Final examination

 

 

   


Return to Course Home Page