Spring 2012


UNIQUE NUMBER:            15625

INSTRUCTOR:        David R. Maidment

                                    Office: ECJ 8.610

                                    Phone: Campus 471-4620, CRWR 471-0065

                                    E-mail: maidment@mail.utexas.edu

Web: http://www.caee.utexas.edu/prof/maidment/CE374KSpr12/CE374K.htm   

OFFICE HOURS    Tuesday and Thursday 1-2:30PM, ECJ 8.610              

LECTURES:             Tuesday and Thursday, 11:00-12:30PM, ECJ 6.406             

OBJECTIVES:         This course is designed to present these Academic/Learning Goals

§  The movement of water through the phases of the hydrologic cycle

§  Modeling of hydrologic systems

§  An introduction to hydrologic design


COMPUTER:           Proficiency with computers and familiarity with a spreadsheet program like Excel is expected. There will be some computer assignments using HEC computer programs to be completed in the LRC.   The ArcGIS Geographic Information System and the CUAHSI HydroDesktop Hydrologic Information System may be used.

TEXT:                        The required text is “Applied Hydrology” by Chow, Maidment and Mays, McGraw-Hill, 1988.  This will be available in pdf form through the Blackboard web site for this class.

CLASS FORMAT:   Lectures supplemented with outside reading, homework, and exams.

CLASS OUTLINE:  See attached.

GRADING:               Quizzes, 2 @ 25%      = 50%

                                    Homework                  = 25%

                                    Final Exam                  = 25%

            I will assign grades using the scale: A = 95 – 100%; A- = 90 – 94%; B+ = 87 – 89%; B = 83 – 86%;

B- = 80 – 82%; C+ = 77 – 79%; C = 73 – 76%; C- = 70 – 72%; D = 60 – 69%; F < 60%

Any problems, personal or otherwise, affecting grades should be brought to the instructor's attention.

HOMEWORK POLICY:     Homework assignments are due in by 5PM on the day assigned. There is a box outside my door in ECJ 8.610 for turning in assignments after the class hour, if necessary. Homework must be done on clean paper, stapled in the top left corner, have your name in the top right corner, and your name, class and assignment number written on the outside when the homework is folded in half.

EXAMINATIONS:   There will be two 75 minute in-class examinations and the final examination. Each examination will be closed book, although you will be allowed a 1-page review sheet, and will be given on the date and time indicated. Missed examinations may be made up only if the reason for missing was illness or some other emergency. Final Exam is scheduled to be given on Monday May 14, 9-12 PM.

EVALUATION:       An evaluation of the course and instructor will be conducted at the end of the semester using the approved UT Course/Instructor evaluation forms.

DROP POLICY:       From the 1st through the 12th class day, an undergraduate student can drop a course via the web and receive a refund, if eligible.   From the 13th through the university’s academic drop deadline, a student may Q drop a course with approval from the Dean, and departmental advisor.  After the academic drop deadline has passed, a student may drop a course only with Dean’s approval, and only for urgent, substantiated, non-academic reasons.

DISHONESTY:         University procedures will be followed in dealing with cases of suspected scholastic dishonesty.  

ATTENDANCE:      Regular class attendance is expected in accordance with The University's General Information catalog and the School of Engineering policy (see the section on Attendance in the Undergraduate Catalog).

IMPORTANT NOTE: The University of Texas at Austin provides upon request appropriate academic adjustments for qualified students with disabilities. For more information, see the Division of Diversity and Community Engagement, Services for Students with Disabilities, 471-6259, 471-6259 (voice) or 232-2937 (video phone) or email ssd@austin.utexas.edu or the web site: http://www.utexas.edu/diversity/ddce/ssd/






Tues Jan 17

Introduction to surface water hydrology

Chap. 1

Thurs Jan 19

Continuity equation


Tues Jan 24

Momentum and energy equations


Thurs Jan 26

Atmospheric water and precipitation


Tues Jan 31

Field Trip to Brushy Creek Watershed


Thurs Feb 2



Tues Feb 7

Infiltration and soil water movement


Thurs Feb 9

Green-Ampt infiltration equation


Tues Feb 14

Runoff processes


Thurs Feb 16

Hydrologic measurement


Tues Feb 21



Thurs Feb 23


Tues Feb 28

Unit Hydrograph


Thurs Mar 1

Reservoir and river routing


Tues Mar 6

HEC-HMS for Brushy Creek

Thurs Mar 8

Introduction to Hydraulic routing


Spring Break!



Tues Mar 20

HEC-RAS for Brushy Creek


Thurs Mar 22

HEC-GeoHMS and HEC-GeoRAS (Dr Dean Djokic)


Tues Mar 27

Texas Megadrought (Dr Robert Mace)


Thurs Mar 29

Flood frequency analysis


Tues Apr 3

HMS and RAS in Austin – Karl McArthur


Thurs Apr 5

LIDAR – Dr Paola Passalacqua


Tues Apr 10

Hydrologic design and risk analysis


Thurs Apr 12

Design storm rainfall


Tues Apr 17



Thurs Apr 19


Tues Apr 24

RainMap to FloodMap


Thurs Apr 26

Hydrologic design for flood control


Tues May 1

Hydrologic design for water use


Thurs May 3

Course evaluation and review for the final exam


Mon,  May 14, 9AM-12noon

Final examination