CE 394K.3 GIS in Water Resources

Fall Semester 2003

University of Texas at Austin

Instructor: David R. Maidment

 

 

Course Videos, course syllabus, course outline and student assignments are viewable on the secure course website at http://utwired.engr.utexas.edu/cms/index.cfm

 

Course Syllabus: syllabus.htm

 

Course Outline: outline.htm

 

Term Project Papers: TermProjProp.htm

 

Final Exam: gisfinal2003.htm

 

Term Paper Library: http://www.ce.utexas.edu/prof/maidment/giswr2003/docs/termpaper.htm

 

Exams from past years:  Midterm2000.pdf, Midterm2001.pdf, Midterm2002.pdf, GisFinal2001.pdf, GisFinal2002.pdf

 

Utah State University course web site: http://ceefs.cee.usu.edu/

 

Setting up your course web site: https://webspace.utexas.edu/

 

Session 1 (Thurs, 28 August): Introduction to GIS in Water Resources. Review the course curriculum, course outline. Lecture slides: lecture12003.ppt Homework Assignment #1: Hmwk1.htm

 

Session 2 (Tues, 2 Sept): Introduction to ArcGIS Lecture slides: lecture22003.ppt Reference: What_is_Arcgis.pdf

 

Session 3 (Thurs, 4 Sept): Exercise 1: Introduction to ArcGIS: Ex12003.doc as a Word file or Ex12003.htm as an html file. Here is the assignment for Homework 2: Hmwk2.doc as a Word document or Hmwk2.htm as an html file. Reading Assignment: Chapters 1 and 2 of Arc Hydro: GIS for Water Resources

 

Session 4 (Tues, 9 Sept): Data Sources for GIS in Water Resources Lecture slides: Datasources.ppt  Listing of key web sites: Datasources.htm

 

Session 5 (Thurs, 11 Sept): Geodesy, Map Projections and Coordinate Systems Lecture slides Mapproj.ppt Here is the assignment for Homework 3: Hmwk3.doc as a Word document or Hmwk3.htm as an html file.

 

Session 6 (Tues, 16 Sept): Exercise 2: Introduction to ArcGIS: Ex22003.doc as a Word file and as Ex22003.htm as an html file. Here are the data files for Exercise 2: Guadalupe.zip

 

Session 7 (Thurs 18 Sept): Spatial Fields in GIS and Hydrology  Lecture slides: spatial.ppt Homework 4: Hmwk4.doc as a Word document or Hmwk4.htm as an html file.

 

Session 8 (Tues, 23 Sept):  Using Spatial Analysis to Calculate Area Average Precipitation.  Exercise 3:  Ex32003.html.  Data:  Ex3.zip

 

Session 9 (Thur, 25 Sept):  Watershed and Stream Network Delineation Including Geomorphology.  Lecture slides:  dem_geomorph.ppt

 

Session 10 (Tues 30 Sept): Exercise 4: Watershed delineation from digital elevation models Ex42003.doc as a Word file or Ex42003.htm as an html file. Data files are at Ex4data.zip Review slides:  recap.ppt.

 

Session 11 (Thurs 2 Oct): Network modeling and the Hydro Network Ex4Reflections.ppt Introduction to Networks NetworkIntro.ppt

 

Session 12: (Tues 7 Oct) Network modeling in GIS Network.ppt Results file for Ex4: Ex4.zip Ex4 Solutions Guide: Ex4Solutions.htm

 

Session 13: (Thurs 9 Oct) Exercise 5: Building the HydroNetwork and Applying the Arc Hydro Schema Ex5.doc as a Word file and Ex5.htm as an html file. Data for Ex5 are at: Ex5data.zip

 

Session 14: (Tues 14 Oct) Review for Midterm Exam Review sheet: Review12003.doc as Word file and Review12003.htm as html file. Slides for review session: Review.ppt

 

Session 15: (Thurs 16 Oct) Midterm exam

 

Session 16: (Tues 18 Oct) Review of midterm exam MidtermExplanation.ppt Linking Arc Hydro with Water Resources Models WaterModels1.ppt

 

Session 17: (Thurs 20 Oct) Linking Arc Hydro with Water Resources Models (Cont.) WaterModels2.ppt

 

Session 18: (Tues 25 Oct) Review of term projects List of term project proposals: TermProjProp.htm

 

Session 19 (Thurs 27 Oct) Exercise 6: Time series in Arc Hydro. As a word doc: ExTimeSeries.doc As an html file ExTimeSeries.htm Here are the data files for the exercises TimeSeries.zip Here is the Guadalupe geodatabase with NWIS data added GuadalupeSolution.zip Reading for today: Chapter 7 in the Arc Hydro book on Time Series

 

Session 20 (Tues 4 Nov) Introduction to Triangulated Irregular Networks TIN.ppt ArcGIS Geostatistical Analyst Demo Exercise Here is a cool Java Applet that shows Delauney Triangulation and the formation of Thiessen (or Voronoi) polygons: http://www.cs.cornell.edu/Info/People/chew/Delaunay.html

 

Session 21 (Thurs 6 Nov) Reflections on terrain processing (Ex4) Ex4Reflections.ppt

 

Session 22 (Tues 11 Nov) Demo Exercise on ArcScene and 3D Analyst, Modeling of Channel Morphology (Venkatesh Merwade)

 

Session 23 (Thurs 13 Nov) Demo Exercise on Creating and Editing Data. Datacreation.doc Datacreation.htm Data files for demo exercise DOQQflorida.zip Introduction to Environmental Cyberinfrastructure Cyberinfrastructure1.ppt and to LIDAR LIDAR.ppt

 

Session 24 (Tues 18 Nov) Term paper presentations Air Quality and Land Resources

 

Session 25 (Thurs 20 Nov) Term paper presentations Surface Water Resources

 

Session 26 (Tues 25 Nov) Term paper presentations Floodplains and wetlands

 

Session 27 (Tues 2 Dec) Term paper presentations Groundwater Resources

 

Session 28 (Tues 4 Dec) Term paper presentations Environmental Resources

 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Assignments and Due dates

Homework 1: Hmwk1.htm  Due Sept 4.
Homework 2: Hmwk2.htm Due Sept 16.
Homework 3: Hmwk3.htm Due Sept 18.
Exercise 2:  ex22003.htm Due Sept 23.  Solution Ex2_soln.pdf
Homework 4:  Hmwk4.htm Due Sept 25.  Solution Hmwk4_soln.doc
Exercise 3:  ex32003.html Due Sept 30.  Solution Ex3_soln.pdf
Exercise 4:  Ex42003.html Due Oct 9.