GIS in Water Resources, University of Texas at Austin, Fall 2002

 

Course Outline

 

Class Number

Day and Date

Subject

1

Thurs Aug 29

Introduction to GIS in Water Resources

2

Tues Sept 3

Introduction to ArcGIS

3

Thurs Sept 5

Exercise 1: Creating a map with ArcGIS

4

Tues Sept 10

GIS data sources for water resources

5

Thurs Sept 12

Exercise 2: Building a base map of the Guadalupe basin

6

Tues Sept 17

Geodesy, map projections and coordinate systems

7

Thurs Sept 19

Exercise 3: Map projections and coordinate systems

8

Tues Sept 24

Network modeling in ArcGIS

9

Thurs Sept 26

Exercise 4: Building a Hydro Network

Term Project Proposals Posted on your Web Site

10

Tues Oct 1

Grid based modeling using DEMís

11

Thurs Oct 3

Exercise 5: Terrain analysis using the Arc Hydro tools

12

Tues Oct 8

Terrain analysis using TauDEM.David Tarboton.

13

Thurs Oct 10

DEM Based Hydrologic Modeling.David Tarboton.

14

Tues Oct 15

Review

15

Thurs Oct 17

Midterm Exam

16

Tues Oct 22

Integration of Geospatial and Temporal Information

17

Thurs Oct 24

Exercise 6:Time Series in Arc Hydro

18

Tues Oct 29

Linking Arc Hydro with water resources models

Reports on Progress with Term Papers

19

Thurs Oct 31

Linking Arc Hydro with water resources models

20

Tues Nov 5

Terrain analysis using Triangulated Irregular Networks

21

Thurs Nov 7

Flood plain mapping

22

Tues Nov 12

LIDAR and Remote Sensing

23

Thurs Nov 14

Nonpoint source pollution

24

Tues Nov 19

Presentation of Term Papers

25

Thurs Nov 21

Presentation of Term Papers

26

Tues Nov 26

Presentation of Term Papers

 

 

Thanksgiving!!

27

Tues Dec 3

Presentation of Term Papers

28

Thurs Dec 5

Presentation of Term Papers